KOSHER FOR PASSOVER SHELVES
Please note that the “Pesach section” in retail stores is not under Beth Din supervision. Our certification extends only to the products, and we have no control over how independent retailers pack their shelves. Please check the labelsvery carefully to ensure that the products are properly certified for Pesach.
KOSHERWORLD is certified by the Kashrut Division and the Pesach shelves have been checked at this store.
The Beth Din Pesach Guide is now available on our website.
There you will find:
- Product/Cosmetic/Medicine Lists
- Pet Food List
- Laws of cooking on Shabbat and Yom Tov
- Info on chametz, bedikat chametz, burning of chametz
- Kitniyot, kitniyot derivatives, “egg matzah”
- Kashering instructions and practical A-Z applications
- Seder requirements
- Zmanim (times/dates) for JHB, CT, Durban, East London, Plett,
- Some laws of sefirat ha’omer with omer calendar
- Sale of chametz forms or online sale option
The actual hard copy of the guide will be made available in selected Pick n Pay stores.
MATZAH NOT CERTIFIED FOR PESACH
It has been found that there are a number of products that are being sold as “Matzah” which are not suitable for Pesach.
Please check that the Matzah that you are purchasing has a reliable Hechsher and is Kosher for Pesach.
The Beth Din certifies both Mosmarks and Rakusen’s Matzah as Kosher for Pesach.
Chametz is only created by the fermentation of flour from one of the five major grains in the presence of water. Fermentation in the presence of all other liquids – such as fruit juices, wine or eggs – cannot become Chametz. The mixture commonly known as Egg Matzah (although it is usually made today with apple or grape juice) may therefore be eaten during Pesach without any concerns of Chametz as long as no water is added. If even a drop of water is added to the mixture or to any of its ingredients, the mixture becomes Chametz almost immediately.
It is for this reason that the custom among Ashkenazim is to refrain from using Egg Matzah during Pesach, unless it is absolutely necessary for children or the elderly who would have difficulty eating regular Matzah; and even then they may not fulfil the Mitzvah of eating Matzah at the Seder with Egg Matzah.
Some imported products, especially from Israel, carry a valid Pesach hechsher but contain kitniyot or kitniyot derivatives. The custom amongst Ashkenazim is not to consume kitniyot. There are different opinions regarding kitniyot derivatives. Please check labels carefully and make your purchases in accordance with your customs.
Products bearing the OU or Star-K hechsher which are kosher for Pesach will have the letter “P” adjacent to the logo. The “P” is for Pesach, not Parev.